



Climate Groups

The Köppen System is a climate classification system. It is split into five main groups which each consist of a range of climate types:

- Temperate hot dry summers, and cooler wetter winters, Mediterranean e.g. United Kingdom
- Continental long, cold winters and short, hot summers, inland areas e.g parts of Turkey
- Polar long periods of extreme cold, tundra, ice cap e.g. Antarctica
- Tropical hot and humid, wet, rainforest e.g. Brazil
- Dry arid, desert e.g. Saudi Arabia

Biomes of the world are: Tropical Rainforest. Temperate Forest. Desert. Tundra. Taiga (Boreal Forest) Grassland. Savanna

What is Climate?

The four main climate zones,

determined by latitude.

Average or typical weather for a given area over a relatively long period of time.



What is weather?

The state of the atmosphere – temperature, precipitation, wind, cloudiness, pressure and more.



Polar 60° - 90° Temperate 40° - 60° Sub-tropics 23.5° - 40° Tropical 0 - 23.5° Sub-tropics 23.5° - 40° Temperate 40° - 60° Polar 60° - 90°

Key Vocabulary

climate

weather

biome

vegetation

wildlife

arid

temperate

tropical

polar

